Climbing Course Reviews Page
Climbing Course Reviews Page
View of the Matterhorn through drifting cloud

Reviews

4.96 from 27 reviews

Average Rating:

Write a Review
****-
Becoming an obsession!
19.10.2015
Syira ahsan
By:

I went on a two day rock climbing excursion with my sister and Alice to Swanage. I'm a novice having only climbed once before outdoors in Scotland, although I now climb regularly indoors. The first day was lots of teaching and techniques which was invaluable. Alice is so patient and 'zen!' The second day we actually climbed routes in the rock climbing guide!!! I loved having Alice as an instructor and will be booking her again very soon. My passion is fuelled and Alice is inspirational. Thank you- I came back to East London a lot more calmer than I left!!!!

****-
Review
21.09.2015
Adrian
By:

Alice was brilliant in helping my friend and I make the leap from indoor to outdoor climbing. As well as having a whole bag of experience to draw upon, she was great in being able to explain new techniques in a simple way, and was loads of fun to be with too.

Testimonial
11.09.2015
J
By:

I just wanted to say a big thank you for the weekend. Both O and I really enjoyed the trip and you've got a great teaching style which made the weekend both relaxing and reassuring.

I particurlary wanted to say thanks for how you, Helen and Jon all looked out for O. She felt really looked after and is so pleased to have climbed the pinnacle. She only wishes the weekend had been longer so she could have climbed more!

****-
Trad Climbing
23.08.2015
Mark Reid
By:

Me and my friends had a great time being taught how to Trad Climb with Alice in the Peak District. She was not only a really good and supportive teacher but was great company as well!

****-
Injury prevention session
02.06.2015
Robin Van den Hende
By:

After tearing the meniscus in my knee and surgery to correct the problem, I'd been out of climbing for a while. When I started to climb again, I wanted to do it properly and reduce the chance that I would hurt my knees again. Alice gave me a brilliant couple of hours of coaching. It included assessing my climbing and identifying changes in my technique that could reduce the strain on my knees and increase my performance. It was very useful. Alice's coaching made me think differently about my climbing and made me realise that there are fundamental changes that I can make to my climbing technique to make me a better climber. I've written more about it on my blog at: www.thesevereclimber.com/2015/06/01/learning-to-climb-smarter/

****-
Peak District Weekender
30.12.2014
Chris
By:

My girlfriend Kim and myself had a brilliant weekend with Alice in the peaks in early Oct, despite the weather! Kim had never climbed on rock before, and the weekend was designed to give her a taste including introducing her to the safety techniques for trad climbing. Needless to say that Alice was an absolutely superb teacher, and Kim really found her reassuring. It made the whole experience very enjoyable for both of us - would absolutely recommend Alice if you need a course to progress in your climbing.

****-
Scrambling in Snowdonia
10.09.2014
Edward Calvert
By:

I spent two days scrambling with Alice in Snowdonia. She is a natural teacher and I felt very comfortable under her tuition. She gave me a thorough understanding of the technical procedures and their purpose, instilled confidence when necessary and made the two days fun and challenging. Very professional, I thoroughly recommend her courses.

****-
Intro to trad climbing
01.09.2014
Iwona
By:

We had a two day introduction to trad climbing with Alice and we can highly recommend her! She tailors the course to your level or requirements, answered all our questions and provided a nice, relaxed atmosphere. We definitely had a great weekend in Peak District.

****-
A fab Birthday
11.08.2014
Amber Valentine
By:

We hired Alice for one day down in Swanage with my husband and 2 x 12yr old girls. We had a fab day learning to climb and swimming in the sea. Alice was very patient and explained everything well, including getting us to set up all of our own ropes (which she then checked) Brilliant day, off climbing again this week indoors.

****-
tailor made 2 day climbing course
07.06.2014
Emma and Neil Slark
By:

We were looking for somebody to teach us everything we weren't sure about to get us out and climbing on our own as quickly as possible. Alice more than delivered this is in a laid back, fun and very professional way. A super two days. Thank you so much! Happy days :)

****-
Alice is a consummate professional
06.09.2013
Zaid
By:

We were in the best of hands throughout the weekend, we couldn't have asked for more. I have no hesitation in recommending Alice to friends and family.

****-
Hard to beat
04.09.2013
Donal
By:

With a pal I took a 2-day course last weekend down in Portland. Alice couldn't have done anything more for us - her instruction is concise and clear; she has a great manner and encourages you every step of the way. From start to finish, the weekend managed to be exhilarating, fun and insightful. Can't fault it.

****-
Great two days climbing
26.06.2013
Dave Clarke
By:

I undertook a two day beginners course with Alice and had a fantastic experience. The two days were structured perfectly to give us all the information and skills needed to start climbing ourselves. Alice tailored the instruction to exactly what we were looking for and I'd definitely recommend her. Thanks you!

****-
Self Rescue Course
21.05.2013
Al Cheyne
By:

A really very useful and enjoyable course taught in a friendly, informative and patient manner. I came away far more confident and competent in a lot of rope work and thoroughly recommend Alice and the course.

****-
Introduction / Trad
06.05.2013
JamesBeedall
By:

Got exactly what I wanted from the course. No Pressure, no hassle, just a good two days of learning from some one who loves whats they do. Alice has given me the confidence to go out and climb trad on my own. Cheers

****-
Lovely, patient and experienced
18.09.2012
Magdalena
By:

We booked our course sort of 'last minute' but it was the best choice we could have made! Alison is a highly qualified, knowledgeable teacher with loads of patience for novices ;) She puts a lot of emphasis on safety procedures which are so important when it comes to climbing. She also gave us a lot of tips on where to go from there (tips on places,equipment etc..). We spent a full day climbing Sandstone and it couldn't have been better!! Thank you so much! If you are looking for a personal approach and experience- look no further!!

****-
3 day Trad Course with self rescue techniques
21.08.2012
Dan Long
By:

Alice tailored a course for me at short notice which was both highly enjoyable and relevant to my specific requirements. She is passionate about what she does, knowledgeable and fun to be around which makes her an outstanding instructor. I am a safer, more confident and inspired climber as a result - thanks Alice!

*****
Trad Rock Climbing Course
18.08.2012
Charlotte Wrinch & Sarah Jayne Morris
By:

My friend and I did the Trad Climbing Course in August and it was everything we hoped for. Alice tailored the course around what we wanted to learn, and was well organized meaning we achieved it all. Alice is a very good tutor, and explained everything clearly and was very patient. We feel like we've learned a lot and would definitely do another course with Alice!

*****
Scrambling Course
17.07.2012
Cliff Atkinson
By:

Dear Alice Well those 3 days Scrambling, Climbing, Abseiling and exploring the mountains in North Wales were fantastic! Bertie and I had a brilliant time. An excellently engineered course that catered for myself, who hasn't been on the end of a climbing rope for almost 30 years and Bertie my 10 year old son who has only ever experienced climbing on an indoor wall. Long, hard and extremely satisfying days which tested us in many ways, I'd thoroughly recommend this experience. Many thanks and Best Regards - Cliff & Bertie Atkinson - Southampton

*****
Climbing
08.06.2012
Balthazar
By:

If you are thinking about taking a course with Alice, hesitate no more! The two day trad course that I had with her was fantastic! Top quality instruction and friendly atmosphere. Thank you Alice!

*****
CLA Assessment
06.05.2012
Malcolm McKenzie
By:

Just finished the assessment for the CLA with alice 2 weeks ago. I realy hate exams of any kind but Alice made the whole 3 days An enjoyable experience. I now feel inspired to go on and do the assesment for ML(summer) in 2013. Can highly recommend Alice as a tutor (also see earlier post)

*****
Multi Pitch Course
01.04.2012
Sam Hollamby
By:

My partner and I did a three day introduction to trad climbing. Alice is a highly competent instructor And her high level of instruction has given us the knowledge and experience to ensure we are fully competent in the skills required to enjoy the sport safely and to it's full potential. Many thanks Alice for a throughly enjoyable few days.

*****
Trad Course
28.03.2012
Scott
By:

Hey , As I was a complete novice too climbing ( trad ) also leading ,I opted too take out a 3 day course which involved both the above plus loads of different types rope work such as , anchoring , absailing and emergency casulty drills all of which was amazing and I really enjoyed every minute of it . The learning curve was quite steep and there were alot of safety and procedures that I needed too go through , but Alice was extremely patient, knowledgable and approachable throughout. I felt at ease throughout and gained alot of confidence quickly , as a result of some fantastic instructing and guidance. A brilliant course defiantly recommend this to anyone who's keen on leaning too climb . Would defiantly do it all over again .

*****
Countryside Leader Award Training Course
09.12.2011
Mel Corbet
By:

Just wanted to say how much I enjoyed the weekend of our camp and how grateful I was for your help, support and advice. I am so glad that last summer when Sharon was short of people that I bothered to volunteer! And I am really looking forward to continuing my practice ready for the next lot of Bronze students. (Once the school play, mock exams and assessments are all over!!)

*****
09.12.2011
Steven Hoskins
By:

Althougth I worked for awhile in the UK I presently reside in the US, I wanted to compliment you and thank you for developing such a helpful and worthwhile website. I do some land navigation training in the US, the information you provided on your website been extremely helpful in teaching. If the website is this good I can only imagine how much I could learn from your expedition training. Come to Utah and teach us. Thank you.

*****
Trad Climbing Course
27.10.2011
Ivor Morgan
By:

If you are in two minds about a climbing course with Alice, let me reassure you. Alice is, simply, a brilliant climbing instructor. Not only does she really understand the sport, she knows how to communicate her knowledge clearly and in a way that builds your confidence and your understanding. Even if you do something completely wrong, Alice will put you write in a way that helps you improve without making you feel an idiot. After 3-days with Alice, I improved my technique, my knowledge and my confidence in my abilities to the point at which I really can't wait to get onto the gritstone again.

*****
Countryside Leader Award
20.10.2011
Malcolm McKenzie
By:

I Enjoyed the whole weekend Despite having the begginings of a nasty dose of flu and slight concerns over my back (all well as it happened). Alice delivered the course in a concise and easy to understand way (as good if not better than the guys at the national mouuntain centre at plas y brenin). It was good to look at things from the dOFe Perspective and also brush up on one or two slightly rusty areas. Now looking forward to the assessment weekend. good to hear that the qualification is likely to be transferable too.

*****
Basic Expedition Leader Course
07.08.2011
Leanne Chapman
By:

I undertook the Basic Expedition Leader course with Alice in October last year; this course was really informative, usful and covered all areas that were needed very thoroughly, relevant to the group I was with and really enjoyable. Alice was a brilliant tutor, explains different aspects and technics excelently. Working with Alice really made the course and I really look forward to my next course with her. Thank you Alice!

*****
BEL3 Certificate
16.06.2011
Louise Starling
By:

SLUK Level 3 Basic Expedition Leader This course was highly enjoyable. The introduction day gave us all of the information we needed for the Residential as well as providing an excellent opportunity to meet the other delegates. The Residential in Wales was very good and made even better by Alice's excellent delivery and she adapted well to the needs of the group ensuring everyone had a positive learning experience. I learnt a lot of techniques and knowledge that I was able to put into practice in my own delivery of the DofE. Thank you Alice

*****
Trad Rock-Climbing Course
09.05.2011
Bjørn Øystein Øvrevik
By:

The training I went through over the course of a two day course in trad climbing with Alice has given me the freedom and understanding of awareness, technique and equipment, to get out there and enjoy the experience of climbing in a new way. It has enabled me to expand my view and competence in climbing from sport to trad. The course was thorough and challenging, with a clear link between the theory and practice, making it easy to learn and work into my aporoach to and style of climbing.

Write a Review

Your Rating:

****-
***--
**---
*---- Terrible - I'll never use this company again

These are not links as I'm trying to avoid spam

Alice Turner Climbing Courses is part of Foundation Expedition Leadership, a Community Interest Company.

More on FEL CIC

Your Feedback

If you've done a course with me or have found the free resources useful then please write a comment and let me know what you think.

If you're thinking of doing a course then here's the verdict...